PARABLES BENEATH THE PALM TREES

These lessons are for the ages. They have been passed down from generation to generation but have never once been written down on pages.

So he began to speak and I listened. Who knew what I would possibly later envision. And all it took was the right amount of guidance and little bit of supervision.

My parents, they were eager to teach, so I would run down to my favorite spot right along the scenic beach. 

I was highly favored and loved as the tropical breeze would hug me and the sun’s rays gently kissed my skin for hours on end.

They would begin to teach me life lessons of sort. In the form of stories of course, and now that I’m older, I like to think of them as parables beneath these very palm trees.

Lessons that taught me discipline, love, respect and how to reap good fortune. They built my character with invaluable traits and showed me how to take life in portion.

How to first love myself before attempting to love anyone else. How to place God high above all and in numerical order the rest shall fall.

Surrounded by concrete they wanted a rose. They posed tough questions for a young man I suppose. What’s the value of true love if your heart’s never really been broken? How strong is your faith if it’s never really been shaken? Why would you ever walk through life with no direction or sense of purpose, is it really worth it?

They taught me to never cover up who I am or to be ashamed. To stand up or stand out, never compete to be the same.

All of these stories and lessons helped to shape and formulate the man that stands before you. Only I don’t stand before you, I stand beside you because like my parents, I’m simply trying to guide you. Better yet, I stand behind you, so if you ever happen to get lost along the way I can find you.

– L.F. SIAFA

 

About Lazarus_of_Montserrado

Lazarus (Hebrew: “God will help”) Siafa was born in Monrovia, Liberia, West Africa. A once abundantly prosperous and promising nation that was crippled by poverty, violence and corruption in the late 80’s to early 90’s due to a Civil War that lasted approximately 14 years. This blog is a collection of thought provoking, spirit lifting and ambition driven poems as well as spoken word written by Lazarus for those who share a similar dream and perception of life. The vision that no matter the obstacle, failure, setback, trial or loss in life that you hold the power to overcome it all. You may have been born to lose but in time can be built to win and God willing can accomplish whatever your heart desires.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PARABLES BENEATH THE PALM TREES

  1. Island Girl says:

    Your poems are so great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

