TO EACH HIS OWN

walking-away_2[1]
As you walk through life in pursuit of your passions. Learn to respect the ideals of others, as well as their actions. To each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

He asked me but what if they don’t like me and despise what I stand for? I replied, to each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

What if they hate that I have undeniable faith? Or that I have enough hope to last the entire duration of my ever changing generation. To each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

What if my peers and so called friends tend to judge me because I refuse to conform? Simply because I’ve never really been the type to follow the norm. To each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

What if I fail to indulge in activities merely because they feel good. Would that make me an outcast or an introvert? Well if that be the case to each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

What if I still respect and hold dear to certain things that our society has made a mockery of? Things such as marriage, family, sex, and the very foundation of what it means to be a man. Am I wrong or utterly close minded? To each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

What if I refuse to ever settle in life, never to fall complacent once I’ve tasted success and constantly hold others to the same caliber of standards. Would you label me an over achiever? To each his own, for it’s better to have drive than a purpose unknown.

– L.F. SIAFA

About Lazarus_of_Montserrado

Lazarus (Hebrew: “God will help”) Siafa was born in Monrovia, Liberia, West Africa. A once abundantly prosperous and promising nation that was crippled by poverty, violence and corruption in the late 80’s to early 90’s due to a Civil War that lasted approximately 14 years. This blog is a collection of thought provoking, spirit lifting and ambition driven poems as well as spoken word written by Lazarus for those who share a similar dream and perception of life. The vision that no matter the obstacle, failure, setback, trial or loss in life that you hold the power to overcome it all. You may have been born to lose but in time can be built to win and God willing can accomplish whatever your heart desires.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

